How to Get a Library Card

Getting Your Library Card

altFree library cards are available to all residents of Hernando County. To obtain a card, patrons may visit any location of the Hernando County Public Library, complete an application form, provide current photo identification or a driver’s license, and provide proof of a current local address.

Non-resident patrons may provide proof of their permanent address, complete an application form, and pay a $15.00 annual fee to obtain a library card.

  • A library card or driver’s license must be used in order to check out library materials.
  • Only one card is issued per person.
  • A lost or stolen card should be reported immediately to the library.
  • All materials checked out on a card prior to a loss or theft being reported are the responsibility of the cardholder.
  • A change of address should be reported immediately to the library.
  • All patrons must provide a physical address. When using Post Office Boxes or General Delivery for a mailing address, an alternate street address must also be provided.
  • Juveniles under 18 years of age need parental or legal guardian consent to get a card. A guardian must present an order or judgment from a judge, attorney or the Department of Children and Family Services. Documents from other sources may be accepted along with a Proof of Guardianship form obtained from the Library and executed before a Notary Public.
  • Hernando County Code (Ordinance No. 83-1) Using a false name, address or other’s card prohibited.

Note: The Library is a member of the Tampa Bay Library Consortium and supports a Reciprocal Borrowing Agreement which allows walk-in patrons with HCPL library cards to check out materials free of charge from any participating library in TBLC. For a list of these, click on TBLC Reciprocal Borrowing.

Any one of the following may be accepted as Proof of Residency:

  • Valid Florida driver's license
  • Florida ID card
  • Hernando County Voter Information Card
  • Florida vehicle registration (current)
  • Hernando County business license
  • Hernando County property tax receipt
  • Declaration of residency from Clerk of the Court
  • Personal checkbook with name and local address
  • Signed lease (formal document from landlord)
  • Utility bill (electric, garbage, water, sewer, telephone) in the name of the applicant
  • Hernando County Government or Hernando School District Employee I.D.
  • Official documents from a Federal or State government agency addressed to the patron

Florida law (Section 257.261, F.S.) restricts libraries from revealing any information about patrons or their records without a court order except to the library patron named in the records or in the case of a library patron less than 16 years of age, the library may give information on the materials borrowed by them to their parent or guardian named in the records for the purpose of collecting fines or recovering overdue materials. Disclosure of this information only applies to overdue materials and not to the entire circulation record of the minor patron.

Site Search

TELL US YOUR STORY!

photoshoot-6-18-12-180

Help us to celebrate National Library Week April 13 - 19!  Stop by the front desk at any branch and fill out a postcard telling us how the Library has changed your life.  Or, click on the picture above and fill out the online form.  We'd love to hear from you!

2014 Edible Book Contest